WHEA Fellows

The Woodruff Health Educators Academy (WHEA) was formed in 2017 to bring together educators across the health sciences at Emory to promote and support the practice and scholarship of teaching and learning.

WHEA has developed two fellowships to support educator development:

  • The WHEA Fellowship in Educational Scholarship is an 18-month program for health science educators who want to develop skills in educational research and scholarship.

  • The WHEA Teaching Fellowship is a 12-month program for health sciences educators who want to advance their teaching skills and offer quality instruction to their learners.

Below you will find details about the WHEA Fellows in each fellowship cohort year.

2018 WHEA Fellows in Educational Scholarship

Joanne Shirine Allam, MD

Assistant Professor

School of Medicine

Department of Medicine

shirine.allam@emory.edu

Improving formative feedback
in PCCM fellowship

Melissa (Moose) Alperin, EdD, MPH, MCHES

Assistant Professor

Rollins School of Public Health

Behavioral Sciences & Health Education

malperi@emory.edu

Communicating Across Cultures: Cultural Competence for Public Health and Health Care Professionals

Noreen Bernard, EdD, RN

Adjunct Assistant Professor

Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing

noreen.bernard@emoryhealthcare.org

Robert Cotes, MD

Assistant Professor

School of Medicine

Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

robert.o.cotes@emory.edu

Predictors of Milestone Attainment in Psychiatry Residency: A Preliminary Analysis

Kari Esbensen, MD

Assistant Professor

School of Medicine

Department of Medicine

kari.esbensen@emory.edu

Evaluating a Novel Curriculum for Teaching Communication Skills at the Bedside

Jonie Fawley, MPAS, PA-C

Assistant Professor

School of Medicine

Department of Family and Preventive Medicine

jonie.fawley@emory.edu

Active Learning: Improving PACKRATTM 1 Scores

Roshan George, MD

Assistant Professor

School of Medicine

Department of Pediatrics

roshan.punnoose.george@emory.edu

Introducing 1st Year Pediatric Residents to Pediatric Nephrology:
First Steps in a Long Journey

Erin Grady, MD

Acting Associate Professor

School of Medicine

Department of Radiology and Imaging Sciences

erin.grady@emory.edu

Readying Emory for Radiation Accidents: A Curriculum

Chanda Graves, PhD

Assistant Professor

School of Medicine

Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

ccgrave@emory.edu

Evaluation of an Interprofessional Curriculum for Psychology Trainees in an Academic Medical Center

Krysta Johnson-Martinez, MD

Assistant Professor

School of Medicine

Department of Medicine

krysta.johnson-martinez@emory.edu

Noble Maleque, MD

Assistant Professor

School of Medicine

Department of Medicine

mmnoble@emory.edu

Duration on teaching service effect on academic hospitalists experience
and teaching effectiveness : a planned mixed method study 

Thomas Moore Jr., MD

Assistant Professor

School of Medicine

Department of Orthopaedics

thomas.joseph.moore.jr@emory.edu

Is a high Emotional Intelligence score protective against burnout symptoms in medical students on their clinical rotations?

David O’Banion, MD

Assistant Professor

School of Medicine

Department of Pediatrics

david.obanion@emory.edu

Melissa Owen, PhD, RN

Assistant Clinical Professor

Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing

mikenne@emory.edu

Mental Health Characteristics and Stressors of Traditional and Accelerated Baccalaureate Pre-Licensure Nursing Students

Leonidas Panagiotakopoulos, MD

Assistant Professor

School of Medicine

Department of Pediatrics

l.panagiotakopoulos@emory.edu

Does Video-Assisted self-evaluation improve patient-physician interaction?

Edward Pettus, PhD

Assistant Professor

School of Medicine

Department of Cell Biology

epettus@emory.edu

Interactive Video, Attention Capture for Anatomy

Imelda Reyes, DNP, MPH

Associate Professor

Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing

imelda.reyes@emory.edu

Objective Structured Clinical Exams (OSCE) in Pediatric Nurse Practitioner (PNP) Program

Eva Rimler, MD

Assistant Professor

School of Medicine

Department of Medicine

erimler@emory.edu

Rolling the Dice: Is teaching chronic disease management using a board game effective?

Jason Schneider, MD

Associate Professor

School of Medicine

Department of Medicine

jsschne@emory.edu

Exploring the Interpretation of Medical Students of the Brief Sexual Attitudes Scale

David Schulman, MD, MPH

Associate Professor

School of Medicine

Department of Medicine

daschul@emory.edu

Improving Methodology for Identifying High-Performing Trainees

Gina Shannon

Associate Director

Emory Center for Experiential Learning

gina.m.shannon@emory.edu

Yes, And to Better Communication 

Boris Spektor, MD

Assistant Professor

School of Medicine

Department of Anesthesiology

boris.spektor@emoryhealthcare.org

Stress level, wellness approaches, and optimized wellness curriculum in Emory Anesthesiology trainees: a cross-sectional survey study

Anne Tomolo, MD, MPH

Associate Professor

School of Medicine

Department of Medicine

anne.tomolo@emory.edu

Julie Williamson, DO

Associate Professor

School of Medicine

Department of Anesthesiology

julie.williamson@emory.edu

STAND BY ME: Patient Continuity in Anesthesiology

2019 WHEA Teaching Fellows

 

Karima Benameur, MD

Assistant Professor

Emory University School of Medicine

Neurology

karima.benameur@emory.edu 

Sarah Blake, PhD, MA

Assistant Professor

Director, MPH and MSPH Programs in Health Policy & Management

Rollins School of Public Health

Health Policy and Management

scblake@emory.edu 

Jennifer E. Brandt, MD

Assistant Professor

Emory University School of Medicine

Medicine  

j.e.brandt@emory.edu 

Abby Britt, CNM, MA Public Anthropology

Instructor

Certified Nurse Midwife

Emory University School of Medicine

Gynecology and Obstetrics

abby.johanna.britt@emory.edu 

Yelena Burklin, MD

Assistant Professor

Site Assistant Director for Education

Emory University School of Medicine

Medicine

yelena.burklin@emory.edu 

Devon A. Greene, MD

Assistant Professor

Pediatric Pulmonologist

Emory University School of Medicine

Pediatrics

devon.greene@emory.edu 

Jamika Hallman-Cooper, MD

Assistant Professor

Physician- Pediatric Neurologist

Emory University School of Medicine

Pediatrics

jhallmancooper@emory.edu 

Kelly Kaysen, MD

Assistant Professor

Emory University School of Medicine

Medicine

kelly.elyse.kaysen@emory.edu 

Delores Lloyd, RN

Advanced Nurse Clinician

Emory Healthcare

delores.lloyd@emoryhealthcare.org 

Munish Luthra, MD

Assistant Professor

Emory University School of Medicine

Medicine

munish.luthra@emory.edu 

Erica D. Marshall Lee, PhD

Assistant Professor/Clinical Director PSR/Peer Support

Emory University School of Medicine

Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

edlee@emory.edu 

Vahid Serpooshan, PhD

Assistant Professor

Emory University & Georgia Institute of Technology

Biomedical Engineering & Pediatrics

vahid.serpooshan@emory.edu 

Sarah Varghese, MD

Assistant Professor

Pediatric Hospitalist (CHOA Egleston)

Emory University School of Medicine

Pediatrics

sarah.varghese@emory.edu