WHEA Fellows

The Woodruff Health Educators Academy (WHEA) was formed in 2017 to bring together educators across the health sciences at Emory to promote and support the practice and scholarship of teaching and learning.

WHEA has developed two fellowships to support educator development:

  • The WHEA Fellowship in Educational Scholarship is an 18-month program for health science educators who want to develop skills in educational research and scholarship.

  • The WHEA Teaching Fellowship is a 12-month program for health sciences educators who want to advance their teaching skills and offer quality instruction to their learners.

Below you will find details about the WHEA Fellows in each fellowship cohort year.

2018 WHEA Fellows in Educational Scholarship

Joanne Shirine Allam, MD

Assistant Professor

School of Medicine

Department of Medicine

shirine.allam@emory.edu

Melissa (Moose) Alperin, EdD, MPH, MCHES

Assistant Professor

Rollins School of Public Health

Behavioral Sciences & Health Education

malperi@emory.edu

Noreen Bernard, EdD, RN

Adjunct Assistant Professor

Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing

noreen.bernard@emoryhealthcare.org

Robert Cotes, MD

Assistant Professor

School of Medicine

Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

robert.o.cotes@emory.edu

Kari Esbensen, MD

Assistant Professor

School of Medicine

Department of Medicine

kari.esbensen@emory.edu

Jonie Fawley, MPAS, PA-C

Assistant Professor

School of Medicine

Department of Family and Preventive Medicine

jonie.fawley@emory.edu

Roshan George, MD

Assistant Professor

School of Medicine

Department of Pediatrics

roshan.punnoose.george@emory.edu

Erin Grady, MD

Acting Associate Professor

School of Medicine

Department of Radiology and Imaging Sciences

erin.grady@emory.edu

Chanda Graves, PhD

Assistant Professor

School of Medicine

Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

ccgrave@emory.edu

Krysta Johnson-Martinez, MD

Assistant Professor

School of Medicine

Department of Medicine

krysta.johnson-martinez@emory.edu

Noble Maleque, MD

Assistant Professor

School of Medicine

Department of Medicine

mmnoble@emory.edu

Thomas Moore Jr., MD

Assistant Professor

School of Medicine

Department of Orthopaedics

thomas.joseph.moore.jr@emory.edu

David O’Banion, MD

Assistant Professor

School of Medicine

Department of Pediatrics

david.obanion@emory.edu

Melissa Owen, PhD, RN

Assistant Clinical Professor

Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing

mikenne@emory.edu

Leonidas Panagiotakopoulos, MD

Assistant Professor

School of Medicine

Department of Pediatrics

l.panagiotakopoulos@emory.edu

Edward Pettus, PhD

Assistant Professor

School of Medicine

Department of Cell Biology

epettus@emory.edu

Imelda Reyes, DNP, MPH

Associate Professor

Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing

imelda.reyes@emory.edu

Eva Rimler, MD

Assistant Professor

School of Medicine

Department of Medicine

erimler@emory.edu

Jason Schneider, MD

Associate Professor

School of Medicine

Department of Medicine

jsschne@emory.edu

David Schulman, MD, MPH

Associate Professor

School of Medicine

Department of Medicine

daschul@emory.edu

Gina Shannon

Associate Director

Emory Center for Experiential Learning

gina.m.shannon@emory.edu

Boris Spektor, MD

Assistant Professor

School of Medicine

Department of Anesthesiology

boris.spektor@emoryhealthcare.org

Anne Tomolo, MD, MPH

Associate Professor

School of Medicine

Department of Medicine

anne.tomolo@emory.edu

Julie Williamson, DO

Associate Professor

School of Medicine

Department of Anesthesiology

julie.williamson@emory.edu

2019 WHEA Teaching Fellows

 

Karima Benameur, MD

Assistant Professor

Emory University School of Medicine

Neurology

karima.benameur@emory.edu 

Sarah Blake, PhD, MA

Assistant Professor

Director, MPH and MSPH Programs in Health Policy & Management

Rollins School of Public Health

Health Policy and Management

scblake@emory.edu 

Jennifer E. Brandt, MD

Assistant Professor

Emory University School of Medicine

Medicine  

j.e.brandt@emory.edu 

Abby Britt, CNM, MA Public Anthropology

Instructor

Certified Nurse Midwife

Emory University School of Medicine

Gynecology and Obstetrics

abby.johanna.britt@emory.edu 

Yelena Burklin, MD

Assistant Professor

Site Assistant Director for Education

Emory University School of Medicine

Medicine

yelena.burklin@emory.edu 

Devon A. Greene, MD

Assistant Professor

Pediatric Pulmonologist

Emory University School of Medicine

Pediatrics

devon.greene@emory.edu 

Jamika Hallman-Cooper, MD

Assistant Professor

Physician- Pediatric Neurologist

Emory University School of Medicine

Pediatrics

jhallmancooper@emory.edu 

Kelly Kaysen, MD

Assistant Professor

Emory University School of Medicine

Medicine

kelly.elyse.kaysen@emory.edu 

Delores Lloyd, RN

Advanced Nurse Clinician

Emory Healthcare

delores.lloyd@emoryhealthcare.org 

Munish Luthra, MD

Assistant Professor

Emory University School of Medicine

Medicine

munish.luthra@emory.edu 

Erica D. Marshall Lee, PhD

Assistant Professor/Clinical Director PSR/Peer Support

Emory University School of Medicine

Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

edlee@emory.edu 

Vahid Serpooshan, PhD

Assistant Professor

Emory University & Georgia Institute of Technology

Biomedical Engineering & Pediatrics

vahid.serpooshan@emory.edu 

Sarah Varghese, MD

Assistant Professor

Pediatric Hospitalist (CHOA Egleston)

Emory University School of Medicine

Pediatrics

sarah.varghese@emory.edu