WLA Class of 2015
Jonathan S. Lewin  
December 6, 2017

Introducing the WLA Class of 2018

Robert W. Woodruff, the namesake and greatest benefactor of the Woodruff Health Sciences Center (WHSC), was fond of saying, "There is no way that any organization or individual, at any stage of its life, can sit back, rest on its laurels, and be content to collect the rewards already won. You continue to grow or you deteriorate."

Today we celebrate what would have been Mr. Woodruff's 128th birthday. We are so thankful to him for the many generous investments he made in the Woodruff Health Sciences Center, and to the Robert W. Woodruff Foundation, which continues that support today.

I can't think of a better time than Mr. Woodruff's birthday to honor all the faculty, staff, students, and health care providers who embody his principles of leadership, service, and lifelong learning and who make our every success possible.

Another group that embodies Mr. Woodruff's commitment to personal and professional growth is the 2018 Woodruff Leadership Academy (WLA) Fellows (below). The selection process for this intensive, five-month leadership program is rigorous, and those selected as WLA Fellows represent some of the most promising leaders within WHSC. Launched in 2003, WLA develops leadership and technical expertise, as well as the interpersonal, communications, and presentation skills necessary to meet the challenges of the rapidly changing landscape in research, education, and health care.

Congratulations and best of luck to the WLA Class of 2018! I look forward to working with them in the year ahead to continue advancing Mr. Woodruff's proud legacy.

Finally, thanks to all of you for all that you do. I wish you a wonderful holiday season and a happy and healthy new year.

Jonathan S. Lewin, MD
Executive VP for Health Affairs
President, CEO, and Chairman of the Board, Emory Healthcare
Executive Director, Woodruff Health Sciences Center


Please see web page for more specifics about the WLA Fellows above.
EHC = Emory Healthcare
EJCH = Emory Johns Creek Hospital
EUH = Emory University Hospital
RSPH = Rollins School of Public Health
SOM = Emory School of Medicine
SON = Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing
VAMC = Veterans Affairs Medical Center

update footer
WHSC Update Emory WHSC