

Accomplishments, Appointments, Awards

Nadine Rouphael 2017 was awarded the Vaccine and Treatment Evaluation Units (VTEUs) 2019-2026. Emory has been one of the VTEU sites since 2007 and will continue to conduct Phase 1 through 4 vaccine and treatment trials and challenge studies in the field of Infectious Diseases.

https://www.niaid.nih.gov/news-events/infectious-diseases-clinical-research-consortiumawards-announced http://news.emory.edu/stories/2019/12/emory_to_lead_id_consortium/index.html

Nabil Saba 2020 and Bassel El-Rayes 2018 have published a second edition of Esophageal Cancer: Prevention, Diagnosis and Therapy. The book is dedicated "In memory of Dr. Hanna Jean Khoury" (WLA 2008) and "To patients affected by esophageal cancer and their loved ones."

Kimberly Rask 2004 and Martin Sheline 2005 are looking forward to celebrating Erica Sheline's (youngest daughter) graduation from Emory Medical School this Spring-- even if it is a smallgroup only celebration! She will be continuing on to a Pediatrics residency-- waiting for Match day to find out where! Erica just found out she matched at her first choice! Univ. of Colorado Pediatrics!

Christy Norman 2020 has been named to the Vizient Pharmacy Executive Council for a 1-year term as Director-at-Large. Her term started January 1st.

Dimitri Cassimatis 2018 has been named the Martha West Looney Chief of Medicine at Emory University Hospital Midtown (EUHM). In this role, he will provide academic leadership and medical oversight and direction of the medicine services at EUHM and will be an integral part of the hospital's leadership team, working closely with Jay Steinberg, chief medical officer at EUHM, and Dan Owens 2006, chief executive officer of EUHM.

Donald Harvey 2019 and Jane Meisel are part of the 25-person editorial team of national experts that contributed to Clinical Cancer Advances 2020, an annual report on progress against cancer from the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) released on February 4.

Taofeek Owonikoko 2019 has been named chair-elect for the American Society for Clinical Oncology (ASCO) 2021 Annual Meeting Education Committee, which oversees programming. The meeting is attended by over 40,000 professionals.

Anita Corbett 2007 is the recipient of the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB) Mid-Career Leadership Award. The award recognizes her commitment to advancing the careers of women in biochemistry and molecular biology along with demonstrated excellence in research, discovery and/or service.

Page 2

Christy Norman 2020 will be the speaker at the Doctor of Pharmacy and Master of Science in Biomedical Sciences commencement for PCOM Georgia that will take place on Thursday, May 21, 2020 at the Infinite Energy Center in Duluth, GA.

Vandana Niyyar 2019 took over as President-Elect of ASDIN (American Society of Diagnostic and Interventional Nephrology) in Feb. Her term is from February 2020 - February 2022, and then from February 2022 to February 2024 she will serve as President.

In February 2020, Dubois Bowman 2007 was inducted as an AAAS Fellow (American Association for the Advancement of Science). Selections are made at the end of the calendar year, so technically he will be listed as 2019 Fellow.

https://www.aaas.org/page/2019-fellows

https://record.umich.edu/articles/22-u-m-scientists-engineers-named-2019-aaasfellows/ (local University of Michigan announcement)

At the invitation of Professor The Lord Darzi of Denham, OM, KBE, PC, FRS, member of the UK House of Lords, Taofeek Owonikoko 2019 will be part of the Fifth World Innovation Summit for Health (WISH), serving as a member of a forum on Immunotherapy. The forum will be chaired by Professor Gillian Griffiths, Professor of Immunology and Cell Biology, Cambridge Institute for Medical Research. The summit is an initiative of Qatar Foundation, under the patronage of Her Highness Sheikha Moza. The summit brings influential health leaders in policy, industry and academia together to discover and exchange insight into the innovations that are urgently required to transform the health of populations around the world.

Lucky Jain 2003 shared that in the 2019 Blue Ridge Rankings, Emory Pediatrics became the highest ranked SOM department nationally with its # 3 rank. This honor comes with over \$72M in extramural funding.

Lucky Jain 2003 was appointed to the NICHD national council for five years.

In January, **Doty Kempf 2018** gave birth to twins Frederick and Lena. Everyone is doing well, and Olivia is a happy big sister.

Ravi Rajani 2017 was appointed Councilor (3-year term) of the Vascular and Endovascular Surgery Society (VESS).

Stacy Higgins' 2010 daughter Zoe was chosen for the Emory Swim and Dive National Team again and would have gone to the NCAA tournament if it had happened.

Greg Martin 2011 helped found a new collaborative effort around data science in critical care that encompasses two international groups: the Society of Critical Care Medicine (SCCM) and the European Society of Intensive Care Medicine (ESICM). The initiative leverages talent in multiple domains, disciplines, and countries with an overarching goal to create a data structure to characterize each patient care episode of critical care, seamlessly share those elements, and enable a global approach to enhancing patient care and patient-centered outcomes. More information in the press release: https://www.esicm.org/new-joint-esicm-sccm-data-science-collaboration/

Colleen Kraft 2019 was appointed to Georgia's coronavirus 18-member task force.

Page 3

Emory University School of Medicine and EAWiMS (Emory Alliance for Women in Medicine and Science) recently celebrated International Women's Day - a global day celebrating the social, economic, cultural and political achievements of women. The day also marked a call to action for accelerating women's equality. The following WLA Fellows from Emory SOM were chosen by the EAWiMS steering committee and the accomplishments in their careers and barriers they have overcome in academic medicine were highlighted: Jada Bussey-Jones 2014, Suephy Chen 2019, Nicole Franks 2017, Nadine Kaslow 2004, Kimberly Manning 2011, Akanksha Mehta 2020, Shanthi Srinivasan 2020. See the link for highlights: http://2020emorywomensday.mystrikingly.com/

Maeve Howett 2010 was appointed as the next Associate Dean for the Baccalaureate Program at the University of Maryland School of Nursing. Maeve will also hold the title of Nursing School Professor, Department of Family and Community Health. She assumed her new responsibilities in February.