Print This Article (X)  | Close this Window (X)
Media Contact: Alicia Lurry
  (404) 778-1503
23 May 2006
Emory Medical Dean Thomas Lawley Receives Dermatology Society Award
Thomas J. Lawley, MD, dean of the Emory University School of Medicine and professor of dermatology, recently received the 2006 Stephen Rothman Memorial Award from the Society for Investigative Dermatology at the society's Annual Meeting on May 5 in Philadelphia, PA. The award is the society's highest honor and has been presented annually since 1967 for distinguished service to the specialty of investigative dermatology. Award recipients are selected based on their scientific achievement, commitment to teaching and recruiting the next generation of scientists, and impact upon the course and image of dermatology and its related fields.

Dr. Lawley is the William Patterson Timmie Endowed professor of dermatology at Emory, and has been dean of Emory's Medical School since 1996. He is president of the Emory Medical Care Foundation and the Emory Children's Center and has held seats on the boards and executive committees of several organizations including the American Academy of Dermatology, American Professors of Dermatology and the Society for Investigative Dermatology. He has also served on the Board of Trustees for the Dermatology Foundation, and is chair-elect of the Council of Deans for the Association of American Medical Colleges.

Dr. Lawley received his medical degree in 1972 from the State University of New York (SUNY) at Buffalo. He completed his residency in dermatology at SUNY at Buffalo in 1975 and later became an investigator with the Dermatology Branch of the National Cancer Institute/National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, MD. He worked as an expert and later as a senior investigator for the Dermatology Branch in Bethesda before coming to Emory School of Medicine in 1988, when he became professor and chairman of the Department of Dermatology. Dr. Lawley is also the author of over 90 published journal articles.

Among his many awards and honors, Dr. Lawley has received distinguished alumnus awards from SUNY at Buffalo and Canisius College, his undergraduate alma mater, in 2002. In 1995, he received the American Academy of Dermatology's Marion Sulzberger award for "Professor of the Year." He received the Public Health Service Superior Service Award in 1987, and the Hoechst award in 1986. Founded in 1838, the Society of Investigative Dermatology is dedicated to the advancement and promotion of the sciences relevant to skin health and disease through education, advocacy, and scholarly exchange of scientific information.

© Emory University 2022

<<::Back to Press Releases