Press Releases
Video News Releases
General Media Information
Photography Services
Communications Staff
Public Events
Emory in the News
Press Kits
Honors and Awards
Expert List

Media Contact: Holly Korschun 03 February 2005    
  (404) 727-3990   Print  | Email ]

Senator Johnny Isakson Recognizes Emory Pathologist Dr. Sharon Weiss As "Georgia Legend"
Georgia Senator Johnny Isakson has nominated Emory pathologist Sharon Weiss, MD, as a Local Legend from Georgia for her contributions to the health of the community. Dr. Weiss is professor and vice chair of the Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine at Emory University School of Medicine. The honor of Local Legend is bestowed upon women physicians who are recognized by their congressional representatives for demonstrating commitment, originality, innovation or creativity in their fields of medicine.

"I'm very pleased to nominate Dr. Weiss for this prestigious award and recognize her commitment to excellence," said Senator Isakson. "She is an outstanding physician and educator."

The Local Legends recognition project is a partnership between the National Library of Medicine and the American Medical Women's Association. It is a companion project to an exhibition entitled "Changing the Face of Medicine: Celebrating America's Women Physicians," featured at the National Library of Medicine in Bethesda, Maryland through May 2005. Dr. Weiss will be featured on the Local Legends web site celebrating the accomplishments of America's women physicians ( ). She also was recognized at the Presidents Banquet at the American Medical Women's Association's Annual Meeting in Washington, DC on January 28.

"Dr. Weiss is truly an exemplary physician, a role model for us all, and a deserving recipient of this honor," said Tristram G. Parslow, MD, PhD, chair of the Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine at Emory University School of Medicine.

<<::Back to Press Releases

About Us | Education | Patient Care | Research | News & Publications Site Map  

Copyright © Emory University, 2022. All Rights Reserved.