Press Releases
Video News Releases
General Media Information
Photography Services
Communications Staff
Public Events
Emory in the News
Press Kits
Honors and Awards
Expert List

Media Contact: Holly Korschun 18 October 2004    
  (404) 727-3990   Print  | Email ]

Institute of Medicine Elects Three Emory Faculty As New Members
The Institute of Medicine (IOM) has elected three Emory University faculty members and two adjunct/clinical faculty members to its new class of 65 top national health scientists. This brings Emory's total IOM membership to 19, including adjunct professors -- an increase from just one member only a decade ago. Election to the Institute of Medicine is considered one of the highest honors in the fields of medicine and health. Current active members elect new members from among candidates nominated for their professional achievement and commitment to service.

Ruth L. Berkelman, MD, Rollins Professor and Director of the Center for Public Health Preparedness and Research in the Rollins School of Public Health; Mahlon DeLong, MD, William P. Timmie Professor of Neurology and Director, Emory Comprehensive Neuroscience Center, Emory University School of Medicine; and Stephen T. Warren, PhD, William P. Timmie Professor and Chair of Human Genetics in Emory University School of Medicine, are newly elected members of the IOM. Julie L. Gerberding, MD, MPH, director of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, clinical associate professor of medicine in Emory University School of Medicine and adjunct professor of epidemiology in the Rollins School of Public Health; and James Marks, MD, MPH, a CDC scientist and adjunct associate professor of epidemiology in the Rollins School of Public Health also were elected to membership.

Dr. Berkelman is a public health leader who has long been at the forefront of the effort to prepare for the threat of emerging infectious diseases. She has been a member of the Rollins School of Public Health faculty since 2001, with a joint appointment in Emory University School of Medicine. In her former roles as assistant surgeon general of the U.S. Public Health Service and as deputy director of the National Center for Infectious Diseases, she has confronted head on the critical need to develop strategies against the new and reemerging biological pathogens identified over the past two decades. She recently was appointed chair of the American Society of Microbiology's Public and Scientific Affairs Board, and she is a member of the Institute of Medicine's Forum on Emerging Infections and a member of the National Academies' Board of Life Science.

Dr. DeLong is internationally recognized for his pioneering research in Parkinson's disease and other movement disorders. An Emory School of Medicine faculty member since 1990, he established Emory's NIH-funded Parkinson's Disease Center for Excellence, one of the nation's most comprehensive and successful Parkinson's research and treatment programs. Dr. DeLong's research led to a new understanding of the mechanisms behind Parkinson's and opened the door to an era of medical and surgical treatment advances that have dramatically improved the quality of life for thousands of patients. Dr. DeLong continues to lead research programs and develop new strategies that offer tremendous hope for patients with degenerative diseases and movement disorders.

Dr. Warren, who joined the Emory University School of Medicine faculty in 1985, is renowned for leading an international research team that identified the gene responsible for fragile X syndrome, the most common inherited form of mental retardation. This groundbreaking discovery also led to the uncovering of "triplet repeat expansion," the unique mutational mechanism present in more than a dozen genetic disorders, including Huntington Disease. This year Dr. Warren was chosen president-elect of the American Society of Human Genetics. In 2003 the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development selected him for its Hall of Honor. He has served as editor-in-chief of the American Journal of Human Genetics since 1999.

<<::Back to Press Releases

About Us | Education | Patient Care | Research | News & Publications Site Map  

Copyright © Emory University, 2022. All Rights Reserved.