Press Releases
Video News Releases
General Media Information
Photography Services
Communications Staff
Public Events
Emory in the News
Press Kits
Honors and Awards
Expert List

Media Contact: Sarah Goodwin 18 September 2008    
  (404) 290-5780   Print  | Email ]

Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences Appoints Michael M.E. Johns to Board
The U.S. Department of Defense recently announced that Secretary of Defense Robert M. Gates appointed Michael M.E. Johns, MD, Emory University Chancellor, to serve as a member of the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences (USU) Board of Regents.

Before becoming Emory's fifth chancellor on Oct, 1, 2007, Johns led the health sciences at Emory University from 1996 to 2007. He served Emory University as chief executive officer of the Robert W. Woodruff Health Sciences Center, executive vice president for health affairs, chairman of the Board of Emory Healthcare and professor in the Department of Otolaryngology, Emory School of Medicine.

Johns received his BS in Biology from Wayne State University (1964) and an MD from the University of Michigan Medical School (with distinction, 1969). Johns is a member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the American Clinical and Climatological Association, the American College of Surgeons, and the American Medical Association, among others.

He previously served as editor of the Archives of Otolaryngology and currently serves on the editorial board of the Journal of the American Medical Association. He is a past member of the Governing Board of the National Research Council, the Board of Governors of the Clinical Center of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and the Advisory Council of the National Center for Research Resources at NIH. He has served as a director and as president of the American Board of Otolaryngology, as chair of the Board of Directors of the Association of Academic Health Centers, and on the Council of Deans Administrative Board of the Association of American Medical Colleges. Johns has been a significant contributor to many of the leading organizations and policy groups in health care, including the Institute of Medicine, Association of American Medical Colleges, the Commonwealth Fund Task Force on Academic Health Centers, the Association of Academic Health Centers, and many others. From 1990 to 1996, Johns was dean of the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine and vice president of the medical faculty at Johns Hopkins University. He has authored 171 publications and delivered numerous professional international, national and regional presentations.

USU is the nation's federal school of medicine and graduate school of nursing. The university educates health care professionals dedicated to career service in the Department of Defense and the U.S. Public Health Service.

Students are active-duty uniformed officers in the Army, Navy, Air Force and Public Health Service, and are educated to deal with wartime casualties, national disasters, emerging infectious diseases and other public health emergencies.

"The new members of the board have significant and varied experience in academic medicine, government and public service, and they will play critical roles in guiding the university and the department in the next era of military and public health medicine," says S. Ward Casscells, assistant secretary of defense for health affairs.

"Their advice to the university will be especially critical as the new Walter Reed National Military Medical Center is stood up on the Bethesda campus and as USU plays an increasingly important role in academic medicine and biomedical research as each relates to the needs and aspirations of the uniformed services," says Casscells. Others appointed include Ronald Blanck, DO, Haile Debas, MD, Kenneth Moritsugu, MD, MPH, and Gail Wilensky, PhD. New board member biographies may be viewed at:

<<::Back to Press Releases

About Us | Education | Patient Care | Research | News & Publications Site Map  

Copyright © Emory University, 2022. All Rights Reserved.