Fellowships Train the Next Generation of Scientists


The 2012-13 winners of two long-standing philanthropic endowments at Winship are Drs. Geetha Vallabhaneni and Brian Lingerfelt, Nell W. and William S. Elkin Fellows; and Dr. William Peterson, Chester P. Rochfort Fellow.

Supporting young, innovative scientists is essential to cultivating the next generation of exceptional cancer researchers. The Chester P. Rochfort Fellowship endowment and the Nell W. and William S. Elkin Fellowship in Oncology endowment—longstanding philanthropic endowments at Winship—have announced their winning candidates for the 2011-2012 academic year.

Dr. William Petersen has been named the Chester P. Rochfort Fellow and is pursuing research in pediatric neuro-oncology. Drs. Geetha Vallabhaneni and Brian Lingerfelt have been named Nell W. and William S. Elkin Fellows. Dr. Vallabhaneni is focusing on developing breath analysis for early detection of lung cancer, and Dr. Lingerfelt is researching genital/urinary malignancies, with emphasis on renal cell carcinoma.

The Rochfort award helps support the advanced studies and research of a fellow in Winship’s three-year hematology and oncology fellowship training program, which includes both hospital clinical rotations, as well as research experience. The Elkin award annually supports two extraordinary scientists or clinicians with career goals in the research and treatment of cancer.

Active for many years, both fellowship endowments are investments in Winship’s dedicated and promising young clinicians and investigators, enabling them to explore ideas that otherwise might go unfunded. This support gives them the opportunity to build their expertise and prepare for attaining additional private and public funding.

Table of Contents

The Winship Donor