Beacon of excellence

A team of Emory nurses

A team of Emory nurses led by Therese Baker 03N (right foreground) and Mary Zellinger 85MN (left foreground) is among the top intensive care units in the country. The unit received the 2009 Beacon Award for Critical Care Excellence from the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses. The award recognizes the 75 nurses who staff the cardiovascular-thoracic critical care unit at Emory University Hospital.

The award is a first for Emory, the fourth given in Georgia, and the first in the state recognizing a cardiovascular ICU. Baker is the unit’s department director, and Zellinger is a clinical nurse specialist.

Table of Contents

winter 2010