Awards and Honors

jimmy carter emory nursing judith woldJudith Wold, shown here with former President Jimmy Carter, is the recipient of several recent honors.

anne l dunlopTami Thomas

Tami Thomas PhD CPNP RNC FAANP,  was inducted as a fellow of the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners at the organization’s 28th annual conference in June. Thomas is a pediatric nurse pracitioner and assistant professor whose research focuses on reducing health disparities among adolescent and pediatric popoulations in rural areas. She is also an alumna of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Nurse Faculty Scholars program and co-leads AIM HIGH (Aligning Innovative Methods, Helping Improve Global Health), a collaboration with other universities to reduce health disparities worldwide.

Clinical Professor Judith Wold 81MN PhD RN will be inducted as a fellow of the American Academy of Nursing and the National League for Nursing Academy of Nursing Education this fall. Wold serves as the Distinguished Professor for Educational Leadership and leads the the annual Farm Worker Family Health Program in Moultrie, Georgia, where nearly 100 students provide health care services to migrant farm workers. 

In 2012, Wold was named Georgia Professor of the Year by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and the Council for Advancement and Support of Education. She is the first Emory professor to earn this honor.

Elizabeth Corwin PhD RN will be inducted as a fellow of the American Academy of Nursing at the October annual meeting of the organization in Washington, D.C. Corwin serves as associate dean for research, helping broaden services and support for faculty and student research in the School of Nursing. An expert on the biological basis of postpartum depression and fatigue, she currently leads a federally funded study examining the psychoneuroimmune contributors to postpartum depression.

Sandra Dunbar PhD RN FAAN FAHA was inducted into the International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame by the Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing. Dunbar was honored for her body of work examining how nursing interventions help improve function, mood, and quality of life for people affected by heart failure. Dunbar serves as the Charles Howard Candler Professor of Cardiovascular Nursing and associate dean for academic advancement.

Kathryn Moore DNP RN, clinical associate professor, will be inducted as a fellow of the American College of Critical Care Medicine at the annual congress of the Society for Critical Care Medicine in January 2014. She is the first critical care nurse at Emory to earn this distinction. Her studies encompass volume resuscitation in trauma patients, hypothermia in trauma, measuring initial clinical competency, and sustainment of clinical competencies in health care providers using high-fidelity patient simulation. Moore is a colonel in the U.S. Army Reserve.

Christine Nell-Dybdahl 98MN/MPH NP-C received the 2013 Life Changer Award at the 28th National Conference of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners (AANP) in Las Vegas. The award, presented by AANP and the Health Monitor Network, recognizes exemplary service to patients and community care by nurse practitioners. Nell-Dybdahl is an adjunct faculty member at the School of Nursing and clinical nurse director of the Emory Center for Heart Disease Prevention.

Carolyn Clevenger 02MN DNP RN, clinical associate professor, was named by the Atlanta Business Chronicle as a 2013 Health Care Hero in the allied health professional category. Clevenger, who specializes in gerontology, leads a new palliative care project funded by the Health Resources and Services Administration and is associate director of the Atlanta Veterans Administration Quality Scholars Program. She also serves as assistant dean for MN education.

Professor Bonnie Jennings DNSC RN FAAN was a finalist in the military service category of the Atlanta Business Chronicle’s 2013 Health Care Hero Awards. She was cited for her work at Emory and her service to the U.S. Army, for which she earned the Distinguished Service Medal and the Army Nurse of the Year Award. She is the program coordinator for the nursing school’s new graduate program in health systems leadership.

Assistant Professor Jenny Foster PhD CNM MPH FACNM received the Emory Williams Teaching Award during commencement. The award honors faculty members who convey to students the highest standards in their profession. Foster, a public health nurse-midwife, is known for her work to reduce health disparities among underserved populations, most recently in the Dominican Republic.

Kate Yeager 84N 12PhD is chair of the Special Populations Committee of the National Cancer Institute’s Radiation Therapy Oncology Group. A research assistant professor at the School of Nursing, Yeager studies symptom management with an emphasis on pain management, especially among underserved communities, where the burden of cancer is highly significant. Prior to completing her doctorate in nursing at Emory, Yeager worked for 15 years as a clinical research project manager.

Table of Contents

Cover of Emory Nursing Magazine