WLA Class of 2015
Michael M.E. Johns  
Michael M.E. Johns  
December 15, 2015

The fruits of vision and leadership

Robert W. Woodruff, the namesake and greatest benefactor of the Woodruff Health Sciences Center, envisioned great things for the WHSC. He had insight unlike anyone else regarding our potential, but I think even he would be amazed at the growth, progress, and accomplishments that have taken place here since his death 30 years ago. We try every day to honor Mr. Woodruff with our excellence in teaching, research, and patient care. We could never accomplish what we do without each of you making the many contributions that you do. 

Jonathan Lewin  
Jonathan Lewin  

It is a fitting honor to his memory (he was born on December 6, 1889) that this month marked the announcement of the appointment of Emory's new Executive Vice President for Health Affairs and Emory Healthcare's new President, CEO, and Chairman of the Board, Jonathan Lewin. Dr. Lewin's background and accomplishments speak to his own potential for realizing a great vision.

It is also an honor to introduce the 2016 Fellows of the Woodruff Leadership Academy. These newest participants in the WLA's intensive, five-month leadership program represent some of the WHSC's most promising leaders.

Congratulations and best of luck both to Dr. Lewin and to the new WLA members, as they help carry on Mr. Woodruff's proud legacy.

Michael M.E. Johns, MD
Interim Executive VP for Health Affairs
President, CEO, and Chairman of the Board, Emory Healthcare


Please see web page for more specifics about the WLA Fellows above.
RSPH = Rollins School of Public Health
SOM = Emory School of Medicine
SON = Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing

update footer
WHSC Update Emory WHSC