October 2013

Bill Bornstein


Bill Bornstein (chief medical officer, Emory Healthcare) was named vice chair of the Association of American Medical Colleges's Integrating Quality steering committee. He will be named chair next year.

Sanjay Gupta


Sanjay Gupta (neurosurgery) received the Distinguished Health Communications Award from the Friends of the National Library of Medicine.

Jeff Koplan


Jeffrey Koplan (global health) received a 2013 People's Republic of China Friendship Award, China's highest award for foreign experts who have made contributions to the country's economic and social progress. Read more.

Tracey Lamb


Tracey Lamb (pediatrics) received a New Innovator Award from the NIH for proposing innovative approaches to challenges in biomedical research. Read more.

Melissa Pinto


Melissa Pinto (nursing) presented results of her depression study at the White House's Technology Innovations for Substance Use and Mental Health Disorders conference. Read more.

Raymond Schinazi


Raymond Schinazi (pediatrics) received the Distinguished Medical Science Award from the Friends of the National Library of Medicine.

Laurence Sperling


Laurence Sperling (medicine) was named president-elect of the American Society for Preventive Cardiology. Sperling's two-year-term will begin next year. Read more.

Donald Stein


Donald Stein (emergency medicine) was named the recipient of the 2013 William Field Caveness Award by the Brain Injury Association of America.

Viola Vaccarino


Viola Vaccarino (chair, epidemiology, Rollins School of Public Health) was named the inaugural recipient of the Tracy Faber Award for Women in Imaging Science and Engineering given by Emory's Department of Radiology and Imaging Sciences.

Frans de Waal


Frans de Waal (Yerkes, psychology) received the Edward Wilson Biodiversity Technology Pioneer Award from Montana State University.