July 2013


Roxann Arnold (director, patient accounts, Emory Healthcare) was named president elect of the Georgia chapter of the Healthcare Financial Management Association.


Robert Gaynes's (infectious disease) book, Germ Theory: Medical Pioneers in Infectious Diseases, was selected as one of Choice magazine's Outstanding Academic Titles for 2012. Choice is the top magazine for academic libraries, and it chose 644 books for 2012 out of 25,000 that were submitted to the magazine.

Debra Houry


Debra Houry (emergency medicine) was selected as a fellow in the Hedwig van Ameringen Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine (ELAM) program. Read more.

Kate Moore


Kate Moore (nursing) was accepted as a fellow of the American College of Critical Care Medicine. Fewer than 25 fellows are nurses, and she is the first Emory nurse to be named a fellow.

Christine Nell-Dybdahl


Christine Nell-Dybdahl (Emory Healthcare) received the 2013 Life Changer Award from the American Association of Nurse Practitioners and Health Monitor Network for outstanding service to patients. She is the clinical nurse director of the Emory Center for Heart Disease Prevention. Read more.

david-weissDavid Weiss


David Weiss (infectious disease) was named a 2013 Investigator in the Pathogenesis of Infectious Disease by the Burroughs Wellcome Fund. The five-year, $500,000 award provides support to early-career investigators conducting multidisciplinary investigations in infectious disease. Read more.

Judith Wold


Judith Wold (nursing) will be inducted in September as a fellow into the National League for Nursing Academy of Nursing Education Fellowship. Read more.

Mary Zellinger


Mary Zellinger (Emory Healthcare) was named secretary of the board of directors of the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses. She is a clinical care specialist in cardiovascular critical care at Emory University Hospital and an adjunct faculty member with the nursing school.