April 9, 2012

Search committee formed for medical dean search

As promised in the last issue of this newsletter, I am writing to share with you the names of the members of a new committee formed for the School of Medicine dean search (please see list below). This committee will be chaired by James Curran, with Douglas Ivester as co-chair. As mentioned previously, we have engaged Korn/Ferry International executive recruitment firm to assist with this search, and Warren Ross, MD, will be on point for Korn/Ferry.

Again, thank you for your support during this time of transition.

Best wishes,

S. Wright Caughman, MD
Executive Vice President for Health Affairs
CEO, Woodruff Health Sciences Center
Chairman, Emory Healthcare

Please share your thoughts and feedback at evphafeedback@emory.edu.

Emory University Trustees

Ben Johnson, Chair, Emory University Board of Trustees

M. Douglas Ivester, (Committee Co-Chair); Chair, Woodruff Health Sciences Center (WHSC) Board

Russell R. French, Vice Chair, WHSC Board; Emory Healthcare Board

Charles H. "Pete" McTier, WHSC Trustee

Woodruff Health Sciences Center Senior Leadership

James Curran, MD, MPH, (Committee Chair); Dean, Rollins School of Public Health

David Stephens, MD, Vice President for Research, WHSC

Emory University Senior Leadership

Claire Sterk, PhD, Senior Vice Provost for Academic Affairs, Emory University; Charles Howard Candler Professor, Rollins School of Public Health

School of Medicine Faculty

Leon Haley, MD, MHSA, Vice Chair of Clinical Affairs, Grady Health System; Associate Professor, Dept. of Emergency Medicine

Tammie Quest, MD, Director, Palliative Care Center; Associate Professor, Dept. of Emergency Medicine

Mark Rapaport, MD, Professor and Chair, Dept. of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

John Sweeney, MD, Professor, Dept. of Surgery

Stephen Warren, PhD, William P. Timmie Professor and Chair, Dept. of Human Genetics

Emory Healthcare

John T. Fox, MBA, President and CEO, Emory Healthcare