Media contacts:
Holly Korschun, 404/727-3990,
May 29, 2003


American College Of Physicians Confers Masters Status On Two Emory University Physicians

ATLANTA Jeffrey P. Koplan, MD, MPH, vice president for academic health affairs at Emory University, and John Stone, MD, professor of medicine emeritus at Emory University School of Medicine, have been designated Masters of the American College of Physicians (MACP). The mastership was conferred on 38 physicians at the ACP annual convocation in San Diego in April.

Masters of the ACP comprise a small group of highly distinguished physicians, selected from the ACP Fellows, who have "achieved recognition in medicine by exhibiting preeminence in practice or medical research, holding positions of high honor, or making significant contributions to medical science or the art of medicine."

Dr. Koplan was recognized for his significant contributions to public health, including establishing a national breast and cervical cancer early detection program while at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, where he was former director. The detection program now provides more than $150 million in grants nationwide.

Dr. Koplan also was recognized for focusing attention on the global impact of the health hazards of tobacco and for the epidemic of obesity and its links to chronic disease. According to the ACP, Dr. Koplan has "not only worked on behalf of the American people, he has dedicated his time to global health issues such as battling smallpox in Bangladesh and improving public health in China."

Dr. Stone, who also is former associate dean and director of admissions for Emory University School of Medicine, was recognized as "one of the great physician-writers of the country whose poetry and prose have had an enormously powerful and beneficial influence on physicians in this nation. His stories, poems, and essays celebrate the value and art of listening to patients. The book On Doctoring, which Dr. Stone coedited, so effectively reveals the power of the art of medicine that the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation distributes copies to every medical student."

In 1996, the ACP awarded Dr. Stone the Nicholas E. Davies Memorial Scholar Award.

"We are tremendously proud of the contributions of Jeff Koplan and John Stone, and both are extremely deserving of this honor," said Michael M.E. Johns, MD, Emory executive vice president for health affairs. "Not only do they continue to enrich the practice of patient care and teaching in the health sciences, but their lives also serve as examples of the deep human commitment required of the truly engaged and effective physician." The American College of Physicians is the largest medical society in the world, with approximately 115,000 members, of which only 454 are masters.

Return to May Index

For more general information on The Robert W. Woodruff Health Sciences Center
call Health Sciences Communication's Office at 404-727-5686,
or send e-mail to

Copyright © Emory University, 2001. All Rights Reserved.