Media contacts:
Holly Korschun, 404/727-3990,
November 16, 2001


Emory School of Medicine Names James Zaidan New Chair of Anesthesiology

Emory University School of Medicine Dean Thomas J. Lawley, M.D., has named cardiac anesthesiologist James R. Zaidan, M.D., M.B.A., new chair of the Department of Anesthesiology. Dr. Zaidan, a professor of anesthesiology and associate dean for graduate medical education in the School of Medicine, has been an Emory faculty member since 1977. He has clinical appointments at Emory University Hospital, Crawford Long Hospital, the Atlanta VA Medical Center, Grady Memorial Hospital and Children's Healthcare of Atlanta at Egleston.

Dr. Zaidan was previously chief of anesthesiology at Grady Memorial Hospital and at Emory University Hospital. He is past president of the Association of Cardiac Anesthesiologists.

"Jim Zaidan brings an ideal combination of skills to the job of anesthesiology chair," said Dean Lawley. "His vast experience in the care of patients, his notable ability as a educator, his national leadership and his comprehensive understanding of the institutions and business of healthcare all will be extremely valuable to the department and to the School of Medicine.

Dr. Zaidan received his bachelor's degree from Pennsylvania State University in 1967, and his M.D. from West Virginia University in 1971. He completed his residency training and a fellowship in cardiothoracic anesthesiology at Harvard Medical School and Massachusetts General Hospital. In 1998, in order to learn more about the business of health care and the cost of academic medicine, he received his Executive M.B.A. from Goizueta Business School at Emory University.

Dr. Zaidan is a senior associate examiner of the American Board of Anesthesiology and is a frequent lecturer on the subject of cardiac anesthesiology.


Return to November Index

For more general information on The Robert W. Woodruff Health Sciences Center
call Health Sciences Communication's Office at 404-727-5686,
or send e-mail to

Copyright © Emory University, 2001. All Rights Reserved.