Sarah Goodwin

Kathi Ovnic
Holly Korschun
April 1, 1999


The Society for Academic Emergency Medicine (SAEM) has selected David W. Wright, M.D., assistant professor of emergency medicine at Emory University School of Medicine, as the inaugural recipient of the SAEM Scholarly Sabbatical Award. The award will provide $50,000 to Dr. Wright and to the Emory Department of Emergency Medicine for six months of directed research.

Working with Donald Stein, Ph.D., professor of neurology and psychobiology and dean of the Emory University Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, Dr. Wright will develop proficiency in neurotrauma research methodology, as well as strong collaborative relationships with basic scientists in Emory's brain research laboratory. Dr. Stein is recognized for his expertise in the area of brain repair and recovery following neurotrauma.

"My laboratory is dedicated to building ties with the new Department of Emergency Medicine at Emory," Dr. Stein said. "This research award will be of great benefit to research in both neurology and emergency medicine, and I look forward to working with Dr. Wright."

The SAEM Scholarly Sabbatical Grants are intended to help emergency medicine faculty obtain time away from their clinical practices to develop new skills that will build their academic careers and advance research and education in emergency medicine.

Dr. Wright received his medical degree from the University of Alabama at Birmingham in 1993, where he also was a Howard Hughes research fellow. He completed his residency in emergency medicine at the University of Cincinnati in 1997 before joining the Emory School of Medicine faculty.


For more general information on The Robert W. Woodruff Health Sciences Center, call Health Sciences Communication's Office at 404-727-5686, or send e-mail to

Copyright ©Emory University, 1999. All Rights Reserved.