September 22, 1997

Media Contacts: Sarah Goodwin, 404/727-3366 - sgoodwi@emory.edu
Kathi Ovnic, 404/727-9371 - covnic@emory.edu

Thomas M. Aaberg, Sr., M.D., director of the Emory Eye Center, recently received the 1997 W. H. Helmerich III Award for Outstanding Achievement in Retina Research.

This international award is presented each year by the Retina Research Foundation (RRF) to a vision scientist whose work contributes significantly to knowledge of the retina. The RRF established its award program to recognize, support and encourage retina research that offers great promise.

Dr. Aaberg has been director of the Emory Eye Center, F. Phinizy Calhoun, Sr. Professor, and chairman of the Department of Ophthalmology, Emory University School of Medicine, since 1988. He is well known for his work in the surgical management of complicated diabetic retinopathy and retinal detachment. He is considered an authority on macular degeneration, macular holes, ocular inflammatory disease and hereditary retinal abiotrophy. Ophthalmologists around the world use surgical techniques and instruments that Dr. Aaberg developed for the vitreous (the jelly-like substance that fills the eye) and retina. He also refined and expanded vitrectomy techniques used widely by surgeons today.

For more general information on The Robert W. Woodruff Health Sciences Center, call Health Sciences News and Information at 404-727-5686, or send e-mail to hsnews@emory.edu.

Copyright ©Emory University, 1997. All Rights Reserved.
Send comments to whscweb@emory.edu