Current Issue
Transforming health and healing: A sensitive call
Health without borders From the CEO
Moving Forward
On point: Danger threatens, opportunity knocks
The Last Word
Past Issues
Other Publications Make a Gift
Contact Us

        E-mail to a Friend    Printer Friendly 


New Winship director

joined Emory in February as associate vice president and director of the Winship Cancer Institute. He previously served as the Minda de Gunzberg Chair in Oncology and Professor of Medicine at McGill University in Montreal, Canada.
     During his tenure at McGill, where he directed the university’s comprehensive cancer center, he developed a clinical trials operation that integrated research with five clinical trial cooperative groups and more than 40 pharmaceutical companies. Cancer-related clinical trials at McGill currently include more than 100 protocols at any one time and are structured through nine multidisciplinary disease sections throughout the center. He also helped develop new epidemiology and cancer pharmacology sections and increased research space.
      Leyland-Jones is known for developing individualized cancer therapies and novel clinical trials. His research interests are pharmacodynamics, pharmacokinetics, and pharmacogenetics in oncology clinical trials; translation of preclinical models into the clinical setting; biomarker endpoints in Phase 1 and 2 clinical trials; and screening and mechanistic studies of novel targeted and chemotherapy anti-cancer agents.


JO ANN DALTON, SON, Edith F. Honeycutt Chair of Adult and Elder Health, has been named Distinguished Alumna for 2007 by Duke University School of Nursing.

SON, Charles Howard Candler Professor of Cardiovascular Nursing, has been appointed to the American Heart Association Flu Task Force, the Emory Heart and Vascular Center Board, and as a faculty counselor of the Woodruff Health Sciences Center Board. She is director of the nursing school’s Center for the Study of Symptoms, Symptom Interactions, and Health Outcomes.

CHRISTOPHER FLOWERS, SOM, is the first recipient of the American Society of Hematology’s Amos Faculty Development Award. A joint initiative between the society and the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, this award aims to increase the number of minority academic investigators in hematology.
Clinical professor JAY BERKELHAMER, SOM, is the new president of the American Academy of Pediatrics.

SAM GANDY, SOM, one of the world’s leading experts on Alzheimer’s disease pathology and drug discovery, joins Emory as its newest Georgia Research Alliance Eminent Scholar and director of Emory’s Center for Neurodegenerative Diseases in July. He also will join the leadership of the NIH-funded Emory Alzheimer’s Disease Research Center. Currently, Gandy is director of the Farber Institute for Neurosciences at Thomas Jefferson University and the Paul C. Brucker Professor of Neuroscience at Jefferson Medical College. He is chair of the National Medical and Scientific Advisory Council of the Alzheimer’s Association.

Woodruff Health Sciences Center CEO MICHAEL JOHNS and DEAN MARLA SALMON, SON, have been named to the National Council on Physician and Nurse Supply, a group of national health care leaders who are addressing the growing challenge of nurse and physician shortages.
HANS GROSSNIKLAUS, F. Phinizy Calhoun Jr. Professor of Ophthalmology, has been awarded a $75,000 Senior Scientific Investigator Award by Research to Prevent Blindness. He plans to use the award for translational research for the treatment of eye melanoma.

PETER JOHNSTONE, SOM, was elected president of the Society for Integrative Oncology, which is dedicated to studying complementary therapeutic options, such as acupuncture, nutrition, massage, and mind-body techniques.

ANDRE NAHMIAS, SOM, was honored at his 76th birthday party with the announcement of the creation of the Nahmias–Schinazi Distinguished Chair in Research, a gift from his colleague Raymond Schinazi.

CHARLES NEMEROFF, Reunette W. Harris Professor and Chair of the department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, has been elected to chair the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention’s Scientific Council.

KEN WEBER, CEO of Wesley Woods Senior Living retirement community, was named 2007 Administrator of the Year by the United Methodist Association at its annual meeting in March. The UMA has retirement facilities across the country and carries accreditation authority for these facilities. Weber has served Wesley Woods Center for more than 35 years in a variety of administrative roles. He was cited for both his strong management skills and commitment to ethics.

is the new vice president for research administration. He comes to Emory from the University of Iowa, where he was senior associate vice president of research and served in a number of administrative and leadership roles, including creation of a clinical trials office and development and implementation of policies related to conflict of interest, research ethics, animal research, human subject accreditation, and research health and safety.

ARTHUR YANCEY, SOM, received the Jeff Clawson Leadersip Award for 2007, given by the National Academies of Emergency Dispatch to someone who has made a
significant contribution to the emergency dispathc profession and who represents the highest standards and pursuit of excellence
in research, education, management, or operations.

SOM, received the Elizabeth Barrett-Connor Research Award from the American Heart Association’s Council on Epidemiology and Prevention, based in part on her presentation on genetic factors behind a widely used surrogate marker for atherosclerosis.

been appointed Associate Dean for Public Policy in Emory School of Medicine. Currently on full-time sabbatical leave as a Robert Wood Johnson Health Policy Fellow, he will assume his new responsibilities at Emory this fall.

CAROLYN MELTZER, SOM, William P. Timmie Professor of Radiology, has been named chair of the Department of Radiology at Emory.

FRED SMOOT, Emory Clergy Care director, was recently honored by the National Association for Children of Alcoholics for leadership in adapting core competencies for clergy in addressing alcohol and drug dependence. He adapted the skills for clinical pastoral education.

Physician’s assistant PAUL TAYLOR received the Continence Care Champion award from the National Association for Continence. The award, sponsored by Pfizer, recognizes accomplishments in research, enrichment of clinical practice, and education related to incontinence.



BRUCE LOGUE, 95, an Emory medical school graduate of the class of 1937 and an Emory School of Medicine faculty member for more than 40 years, died in February. Known as a legendary diagnostician of heart disease and a master clinician, he established Emory’s first residency training program in cardiology at Grady Memorial Hospital in 1946. In the following years, he trained hundreds of residents, fellows, and students in cardiology, a specialty which he helped develop. He helped found The Emory Clinic and served as the head of its medicine section for many years as well as chief of medicine at Emory Hospital. After “retiring” from the clinic in 1980, he went on to become director of Emory Crawford Long’s Carlyle Fraser Heart Center, capping a distinguished career. Among his many honors are the Master Teachers Award of the American College of Cardiology and the Emory University Medical Alumni Award of Honor. The Emory University Board of Trustees established a chair in his name in 1986.



E-mail the Editor


current issue . past issues . contact us.
make a gift . other publications

Copyright © Emory University, 2005. All Rights Reserved